Facebook Shadow Profile – what are Facebook Shadow Profiles?

Facebook Shadow Profile – what are Facebook Shadow Profiles? – We all know that Facebook collects personal data, but shadow profiles are one of the most intrusive methods the social media uses.

Facebook Shadow Profile
Facebook Shadow Profile

Meanwhile, what shadows profile simply means is that even though you never use Facebook, the website may have information about you stored.

So, for you to maintain your privacy, this guide will give you an insight into what Facebook shadow profiles mean, and how you can handle them.

What are Facebook Shadow Profiles?

It is called shadow profiles because they are not something you make yourself. Instead, Facebook creates a shadow profile without your knowledge or consent.

For an instant, you have no Facebook account yet and one of your friends creates a Facebook account. On the platform, they offer a special service where they can import their contacts to find friends already on their service.

Unknown to your friends, it might seem good, so they import their contacts list to Facebook. By doing that, Facebook will now be able to go through the contact details and let your friend know if any of their friends have also created an account.

Through their scanning, they will find the contact details of people who don’t sign up yet as well as you.

How to know if Facebook Create shadow profiles?

Facebook shadow profile is a rumour or conspiracy, it is very true, it was revealed after Facebook discovered there was a leak of people’s contact details since 2013.

The leaks reveal register user’s information who willingly gave information to the website. And also, Facebook’s breach however revealed information for people who had never sign up to the website. This raised alarm and revealed the existence of shadow profiles.

Why Does Facebook Create Shadow Profiles?

Why did Facebook create and store a shadow profile of people who are not using Facebook yet?

If you ask some people they might say shadow profiling is important for the people you may know “Feature”. That is where facebook recommends friends you may know that already have an account with them.

With the help of that, if Friend A and Friend B both make a Facebook profile before you. Then, Facebook can have a clue of who is in your circle of friends. For an instant, social media can see that you are in both friend A and Friend B’s contacts. Which show that there is a chance both of these your friends could know each other as well.

Having this information of people on their data give them the ability to pair you up with the people you know when you first sign up. This is their rationale behind the data collection, and it claims they need it to achieve the goal.

Probably, if you ask anyone out there, they might not be able to give you the right answer. In this jet age, hoarding information on people can be profitable.

Does Facebook Disclose These Activities

Since the public is now aware of a shadow profile. They have updated their privacy policy. In it, they agreed that they do use local information on people phone contact.

At the section of “Network and Connections,” Facebook says:

“ We also collect contact information if you choose to upload, sync or import it from a device (such as an address book or call log or SMS log history), which we use for things like helping you and others find people you may know and for the other purposes listed below”.

At the section “Networks and connections, “Facebook says:

“We also receive and analyze content, communications, and information that other people provide when they use our products. This can include information about you, such as when others share or comment on a photo of you, send a message to you, or upload sync or import your contact information.”

The above statement on their policy gave them the right to continue to make shadow profiles. So long their users agreed to the privacy policy and continue to entrust Facebook with their data.

What can you do about shadow profiles?

It is so sad that we have no direct control over the shadow profile on Facebook. So whenever users who have your contact sign up on Facebook, your information will be added to shadow profile.

But you can tell your friends to delete the contacts they have upload to Facebook. This can be done, by going over to the manage Contacts page on Facebook by turning it off.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply