2019 Governorship Elections Tally: APC 15 states, PDP 14

2019 Governorship Elections Tally: APC 15 states, PDP 14

Pic 36. Voters queuing to cast their votes at ward 102, Adereti, Olode village, during the Osun State Governorship Re-run Election on Thursday

The governorship elections of March 9 have now been officially concluded, nearly a month after voters first headed to the poll.

Following a rash of supplementary polls, the final collation came in Rivers State on April 3 with the re-election of Governor Nyesom Wike.

Governors-elect in Bauchi and Adamawa emerged on March 26 and 29, respectively. All three states were picked up by the PDP.

As PREMIUM TIMES highlighted in a March 24 update about how the two major parties won and lost states, governorship elections held in 29 of the 36 states this year.

Elections did not hold in Kogi, Osun, Edo, Ekiti, Bayelsa, Ondo, and Anambra this year.

A breakdown of the results from the 29 states where elections held showed that the All Progressives Congress, which controls the center, won in 15 states; while the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party emerged victorious in 14 states.

The current standing shows that the PDP had a net gain of states, while the APC had a net loss.

Going into the election, the APC was the incumbent party in Kebbi, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kano, Adamawa, Katsina, Bauchi, Kaduna, Borno, Yobe, Niger, Ogun, Plateau, Lagos, Nasarawa, Oyo and Imo. After the election, the party lost four states of Bauchi, Oyo, Adamawa, and Imo.

The PDP was controlling Gombe, Enugu, Abia, Kwara, Cross River, Delta, Sokoto, Akwa-Ibom, Ebonyi, Benue, Rivers, and Taraba. After the election, only Gombe and Kwara were lost to the APC, giving the PDP net edge of two states.

Unless some of the elections are overturned at the tribunal to flip states for either of the two major parties or even another party entirely, the 29 states are likely to remain 15 for the APC and 14 for the PDP until the 2023 elections.

Already, Zamfara has been bedeviled by a legal tussle that could see the APC lose the state to the PDP. Days after the governorship poll was concluded, the Court of Appeal nullified APC’s participation in the election, throwing the state back into a pre-election crisis it thought had been surmounted when the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) finally decided to fill its candidates.

The commission has obeyed the court judgment and withheld certificates of return to all APC candidates in Zamfara, including the APC’s governor-elect. The matter is expected to drag up to the Supreme Court.

Adding the seven states where elections were not held to complete Nigeria’s total 36 states, the APC now has 20 states as of April 5. The party controls Ondo, Edo, Osun, Kogi, and Ekiti. The PDP has 15 states, including Bayelsa, and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has one, Anambra.

Governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa are expected to hold at the end of this year. Ondo and Edo are scheduled for 2020; Anambra, 2021; while Osun and Ekiti would hold elections in 2022.

Final outcome from 29 states that took part in the March 9 governorship elections:


PDP 261,127
APC 99,574

PDP 376,552
APC 336,386

Akwa Ibom
PDP 520,163
APC 172,244


PDP 515,113
APC 500,625


Facebook Comments

One Reply to “2019 Governorship Elections Tally: APC 15 states, PDP 14”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: